Posts Tagged Medal of Valor Award

Illinois Fallen Firefighter Memorial and Medal of Honor awards ceremony

Excerpts from

Firefighters from across Illinois gathered in Springfield Tuesday to remember fallen firefighters who gave their lives in the line of duty.

Firefighters John “Mike” Cummins of the Homer Fire Protection District and Lawrence Matthews from the Village of Dolton Fire Department were honored for their heroic sacrifice during the 25th Annual Illinois Fallen Firefighter Memorial and Firefighting Medal of Honor Awards Ceremony. Their families were presented with the Duty Death Gold Badge by Fire Marshal Matt Perez.

Two firefighters were also presented with The Medal of Honor award during the ceremony. It’s the highest award given to firefighters by the state of Illinois. Lt. Eric Schrage from the Collinsville Fire Department and Paramedic Todd Zobrist from the Highland Fire Department/EMS were selected for demonstrating selflessness and personal courage above and beyond the call of duty.

Nine firefighters were honored with the Medal of Valor award. It is given by the state of Illinois to a firefighter for an act of heroism or bravery that clearly demonstrated courage and dedication in the face of danger while in the performance of duty. Recipients include:

• Capt. Daniel Whiteside, Alton Fire Department

• Firefighter Aaron Pihl, Belvidere Fire Department

• Lt. Shawn Schadle, Belvidere Fire Department

• Firefighter Jeff Vaughan, Belvidere Fire Department

• Firefighter Eric Claudio, Chicago Fire Department

• Lt./EMT John O’Brien, Chicago Fire Department

• Firefighter/Paramedic Andrew Hoff, Downers Grove Fire Department

• Firefighter/Paramedic Scott Sohn, Downers Grove Fire Department

• Firefighter/Paramedic Quinn Triplett, Downers Grove Fire Department

Fourteen firefighters received the Firefighter Excellence Award for an act of service in the line of duty, demonstrating excellence and professionalism in service to the citizens of the state of Illinois. Recipients include:

• Firefighter Mark Beck, Belvidere Fire Department

• Firefighter James Kriebs, Belvidere Fire Department

• Firefighter Jason Swanson, Belvidere Fire Department

• Firefighter Nicolas Thornton, Belvidere Fire Department

• Captain Mark Zumbragel, Belvidere Fire Department

• Firefighter/Paramedic Michael Covelli, Downers Grove Fire Department

• Firefighter/Paramedic Kevin Schrader, Downers Grove Fire Department

• Paramedic Ty Barr, Highland Fire/EMS

• Firefighter Ben Bentley, Peru Fire Department

• Firefighter Alex Duncan, Peru Fire Department

• Lt. Neil Nadolski, Peru Fire Department

• Engineer Kris Ayers, Wood River Fire Department

• Engineer Bill Hall, Wood River Fire Department

• Firefighter Jamie Wells, Wood River Fire Department

In addition, six units received the Firefighter Excellence “Teamwork Unit Citation” Awards for an act of service in the line of duty, demonstrating excellence, teamwork, and professionalism in service to the citizens of the state of Illinois. Recipients include:

• Blue Island Fire Department

• Broadview Fire Department

• Chicago Heights Fire Department

• North Chicago Fire Department

• Orland Fire Protection District

• Pana Fire Department, which was recognized for its actions during a April 2, 2017, fire in the 800 block of East Second Street. The fire claimed the lives of two children, ages 2 years and 3 months. Fire officials said the cause of the April 2 blaze appeared to be electrical.

One firefighter received the Certificate of Recognition which acknowledges those nominated for their dedication to the principles and traditions of the fire service, to the state and the community, with honor and integrity.

• Firefighter/Paramedic Mark Buettner, Bolingbrook Fire Department

thanks Dan

Tags: , , , , ,

2014 Illinois Firefighter Medal of Honor Ceremony award recipients

This from Dennis McGuire, Jr:

The 21st Annual Illinois Fallen Firefighter Memorial and Firefighter Medal of Honor Ceremony will be held Tuesday, May 6, 2014 in Springfield, IL. The following are Chicago Fire Department Local 2 members who will be receiving awards at this year’s ceremony.

Certificate of Recognition Award

            Firefighter/EMT Edtismond Johnson, T40

           Firefighter/Paramedic Joseph White, III, E38


Firefighter Excellence Award

            Firefighter/EMT Sean Butler, E56

            Firefighter/EMT Jason Flores, T13

            Fire Paramedic Edward Gilbridge, A21

            Firefighter/Paramedic Anthony Licato, E93

            Engineer/EMT John Meade, E101

            Firefighter Robert Murphy, T15


Medal of Valor Award

            Firefighter/EMT Joseph Atkins, Sqd 5

            Firefighter/EMT Cedric Collins, ASR

            Firefighter/EMT Michael Diete, T11

            Lieutenant/EMT Ronald Ellingsen, T12

            Captain/EMT Alfred Kiefer, Headquarters 

            Firefighter/EMT Kevin Martin, T15

            Firefighter John McClorey, ASR

            Firefighter John Veller, E38


Medal of Honor Award

            Lieutenant/EMT John Majka, E93

            Firefighter Michael Kappel, T56

            Captain/EMT Mauricio Rodriguez, E116

            Firefighter/EMT James Wagner, ASR

Tags: , , , , , , , ,